unesco World Heritage

Here you have a list with the most  famous UNESCO World Heritage sites in Spain (Monumentos del Patrimonio de la Humanidad en España de la UNESCO). In the next list you will find the name of the monument, its city, province or region and the year of its inclusion as World Heritage site:


Barcelona (Catalonia): The Gúell Park and Mila House (The Pedrera), added as UNESCO World Heritage sites in 1984. The Catalonian Music Palace (Palau de la música catalana) and The hospital of Sant Pau included in 1997. Basilica de la Sagrada Familia, included in 2005.


Casa Mila

Burgos (Castile Leon): TheCathedral of Burgos, year 1984. Sierra de Artapuerca (Burgos province), included in year 2000.


Granada (Andalusia):  Alhambra and  Generalife, added in 1984 . The  Albaicín neighborhood in Granada, 1994.

la alhambra

Cordoba (Andalusia): Mosque of Cordoba, 1984. The Historic city of Córdoba, 1994.

mezquita cordoba

Sevilla (Andalusia): The Seville cathedral, The quarterdeck (Alcázar) and Archivos de indias, year 1987.

catedral de sevilla

El Escorial (Madrid region): The Royal Monastery of El Escorial added as World Heritage site in 1984.

el escorial model

– Aranjuez (Madrid region): Cultural landscape of Aranjuez, 2001.

– Alcalá de Henares (Madrid region): University of Alcalá de Henares and Old town, 1998.

Toledo (Castile La Mancha): The Toledo historic city.  Added to UNESCO list in 1986.

toledo gate

Ávila (Castile Leon): The old city of Ávila and its walls in 1985.

Segovia (Castile Leon): The Old city of Segovia and its Aqueduct, added as World Heritage sites in 1985.

plaza mayor segovia


Valencia (Valencian region): The Silk market (La Lonja de la Seda), 1996.

lonja seda valencia

– Cantabria region: Altamira caves (Cueva de Altamira), included in 1985.

altamira cave

Oviedo (Asturias): Churchs (pre-romanesque churchs) 1985, an other  monuments in Oviedo, 1998.


Santiago de Compostela (Galicia): The old city of Santiago, 1985. The  Saint James way, 1993.

Santiago de Compostela

– Lugo (Galicia): The roman walls, included in year 2000.

A Coruña (Galicia): Torre de Hércules, 2009.

hercules tower

Cáceres (Extremadura): The old city of Cáceres in 1986, and Santa Maria de Gudalupe Monastery, 1993.

Mérida (Extremadura):  29 monuments in Merida and surroundings, included in 1993.

roman teather merida spain

Salamanca (Castile Leon): The old city of Salamanca, 1988.

convento de san esteban dominicos


Tarragona (Catalonia): Archaeological complex of Tarragona, year 2000.

Poblet (Catalonia):  Monastery of Poblet, included in 1991.

– Lérida (Catalonia): Romanesque cultural landscape of Valle de Boi (Paisaje cultural románico), 2000.

Cuenca (Castile La Mancha): The fortified and historic city of Cuenca, 1996.


La Rioja region: San Millan de Yuso y Suso Monasteries, year 1997.

Teruel (Aragón): The  Mudejal towers and  the cathedral roof (techumbre), year 1986.

mudejar towers teruel

Zaragoza (Aragón): The Mudejar art of  La Seo Cathedral, Aljaferia Palace and  San Pablo church. Included in year 2001.

la seo

– Calatayud (Aragón): The Mudejar art of Santa Maria Church (in Cervera de la Cañada), Santa Tecla Chuch (in Tobed village) and Santa Maria Church, year 2001.

– Mediterranean rupestrian art of the Iberian Peninsula  (arte rupestre de la cuenca mediterranea), included in 1998.

Bilbao (Basque Country): Puente de Vizcaya, year 2006.

vizcaya bridge

– Úbeda y Baeza towns (Jaén, Andalusia): Declared in World Heritage sites the 3rd of July 2003.

– Ibiza island (Balearic islands): Ibiza biodiversity and culture, 1999.

– San Cristobal de la Laguna (Santa Cruz de Tenerife, Canary Islands): Included as World Heritage site in 1999.





Read also our list with t he best cities and destinations in Spain, and the top monuments of Spain.

VN:F [1.9.22_1171]
Rating: 5.0/5 (7 votes cast)
Top World Heritage sites in Spain, 5.0 out of 5 based on 7 ratings


Please, log in to post a reply.

  • Follow us!

  • Archive

  • Users

  • Tweets